2012 Conference website on August 27-30, 2012 in New Orleans." />
  • pic1
  • pic3
  • pic4
  • pic4
  • pic5
  • pic7
  • pic8
  • pic9
  • pic10
  • pic11
  • pic12

Award Nominations


Proactive DMSMS Management (also known as Obsolescence Management) requires a synergistic effort by many individuals and teams across several disciplines and communities to include acquisition, parts management, standardization, logistics and sustainment. The management of Diminishing Manufacturing Sources & Material Shortages is critical to the sustainment of modern military and commercial systems and overall Life Cycle Management that enables the readiness and support of the warfighters. Over the years, many tools, publications, processes, policies, and procedures were developed to mitigate DMSMS. These advances were pioneered by many skilled teams and individuals.

Active DMSMS management should be actively pursued by programs of all sizes and in all phases of acquisition. In order to properly recognize and award the achievement of DMSMS teams within the DoD and Industry, this year's award nominations will be organized and evaluated based upon the size of the program. The categories will be: Enterprise, ACAT ID or IC, ACAT IID or IIC, ACAT III, and individual.

Nominations are due by Friday, June 22, 2012.

Purpose of the Awards

The Awards are intended to recognize achievements based on proactive efforts rather than the more traditional reactive DMSMS management strategies and methodologies; and to publicly recognize individuals and teams (both Government and Industry) for outstanding contributions and/or accomplishments in promoting or achieving Proactive DMSMS Management.

Award Categories

This year’s award nominations will be organized and evaluated based upon the size of the program using DoD Acquisition Category (ACAT) level, and only one selection will be awarded in each category. Definitions of the ACAT levels can be found at the Defense Acquisition University. The award categories will be: 

  • Enterprise [Activities across more than one program on behalf of an organization (PEO, SYSCOM, or FRC)]
  • ACAT ID or IC Program
  • ACAT IID or IIC Program
  • ACAT III Program
  • Individual (Includes lifetime accomplishments)

Award Criteria

The awards will be made to the teams and an individual from the Government and Industry most responsible for significant achievement in Proactive DMSMS Management and Implementation. The awards will be based on achievements in the following areas:

  • Exceptional DMSMS Management
  • Activities resulting in significantly improved quantifiable readiness levels
  • Substantial cost avoidance(s)
  • Exceptional warfighter support related to or realized though a DMSMS issue
  • Creation and/or implementation of a DMSMS “Best Practice” demonstrating high impact to the warfighter

The evaluation criteria for these areas are described on the Evaluation Criteria page. Please submit a maximum of 250 words (minimum of 100 words) for each criteria of a team nomination.

The time frame for achievements for this round of awards is for efforts that generally have occurred within the period (or are ongoing) from August 2011, up to the cutoff date for nomination submission (Friday, June 22, 2012).  This is not intended to exclude lifetime individual achievements occurring in the recent past or during a career.

Submission Requirements

All nominations must be made using the web online submission link. Fill out the award nomination form and upload supporting documentation (if any) in a read-only, PDF format. The nomination form MUST be submitted by close of business (4:00 PM EDT) on the nomination closing date (Friday, June 22, 2012). All submissions MUST be made through the website; no other form will be accepted. The narrative content is not to exceed one (1) standard word document 8x10 page, typed in Times New Roman, 12 point size font. Supporting documentation (if submitted) should not exceed two (2) standard word document pages (as above) in length. The supporting documentation should be specifically directed towards the award criteria (below), and the website award nomination form will capture this supporting explanation for each of the award criteria elements.

Award Winners

The award winners will be notified privately by the DoD DMSMS Working Group Chair or designated representative by Friday, July 27, 2012, and publicly announced during a ceremony at the DMSMS and Standardization 2012 Conference on Tuesday, November 27, 2012.